R.I.P. 2016, Hello 2017

Well, another year lived and another year (thankfully) dead. I would be preaching to the choir if I said I’m glad 2016 is finally over. To a lot of us, it was a garbage year filled with hateful politics, our world growing scarier every day, and heroes dying.

Yet despite all the nastiness of 2016, there were so many beautiful events in my life that overcome the darkness.

IMG_5019

I saw two of my childhood best friends get married to the ones they love, and I got to be a part of their weddings! This was the biggest part of my summer and the happiest. Seeing Alyssa and Gillian get married was such a special moment. Their happiness, the love everyone shared, it overwhelmed me and touched me so deeply. These were the friends that have helped ME so much growing up, and to see them in complete bliss felt like full circle. We are all growing up.

13641078_10210284174128549_6775822773201419503_o
Gillian, viola partners and high school best friend. Photo by Megan Nicole Photography.
am-wedding29
Alyssa, best childhood friend. Photo by Sarah Mumper Photography.

I traveled more. I got my little Honda CR-V all over the place this year, hitting the milestone of 175,000 on that puppy! From hiking and camping, to the ocean and the city, I saw a lot this year. Being able to enjoy traveling again really made me feel more at peace with myself. When it came to the majority of my explorations, it was alone. This summer, I camped in the woods by myself for the first time! Although this could be seen as a small accomplishment, it was a big one for me. It truly signified all the independence I have learned to love and rely on throughout the years. My bank account might have felt a bit sore at times, but my soul certainly wasn’t. I also racked up quite a few frequent flier miles for 2017.

I made new friends, and stayed close with the best ones. The year had a lot of up and downs for me. I settled back on the East Coast, cut ties with a lot of toxic individuals, and learned to value myself by growing the friendships that truly matter to me. Despite being on opposite ends of the country, I got to see my best friend a lot this year. From Coachella to NYCC to New Orleans, we did so much together and have strengthened our connection even more. Having such a wonderful friendship about caring, trust, love, and silliness matters so much these days, and I feel so lucky to have found the yin to my yang. The Ron to my Harry. The Finn Balor to my Seth Rollins. (Okay I know but work with me people.)

13325676_10100279578210542_7273659446329881586_n

IMG_1696
Hanging with my grrrl.

I worried less, and had fun more. Much of this had to do with getting myself out of a financial rut. When living in LA the rent and utilities were high and I used my car every day. This lead to so many more expenses than I was used to. Add to this going out each weekend and missing student loan payments, I was in big trouble. There was also a sense of stalling, as if I was stuck in one place and unable to move up or take more risks. Try new things. I have to admit, a TEDx Talk really turned things around for me. When I listened to Emilie Wapnick talk about multipotentialites, I thought to myself, “Oh my god, THIS IS ME!” I too have many passions, from writing and reading, to hiking and photography. Add in some geology, a dash of video gaming, meteorology, music theory, and fashion design and you have me. By not worrying that I have one true calling, but the potential for many, I quit thinking that I would never master something and move up in the world. Instead I move out, depending on my fascinations, and ever expanding on my adaptability to many fields.

 

So that’s it. That’s my grand 2016 post. I hope to do more for 2017, but I guess we will see the next adventures I take on.

Stay Crescent Fresh.

Leave a Reply

