Working in The Incubator

So as some of you may or may not already know, I moved back to Pennsylvania from California. It seems pretty obvious to me but I do have people questioning where in the world I am from time to time. I do move around and travel a lot! So it’s hard to pin me down to one place.

For the past two months I have been working at a start up focusing in wearable technology. It’s an insane job, and definitely 24/7/365. You can catch me writing e-mails and fielding calls late nights and weekends. I am always constantly thinking about outreach, improvements, design, and a slew of other things. It’s exciting and always go go go. But that’s what keeps me motivated!

If you would’ve told me a year ago that I would be working in tech, I would’ve looked at you like three heads just popped out of your neck. My thoughts would’ve been “Tech is so…technical! Where is the creativity!? I have no interest in anything STEM related!”

In just two months however, I have proven myself wrong. I am really enjoying working in the tech field. It’s something new and exciting everyday. And guess what? Tech REALLY relies on creativity and thinking outside the box! The world is constantly changing, and we have to race ahead and adapt to those changes at a moments notice. One has to think, “What’s next? What’s new? I see this idea, I like it, but how can we improve on it? How can we make it functionally AND aesthetically pleasing?”

Another benefit of being in this start up is I get to work in this amazing facility. The Small Business Development Center is run in part by Bucknell University in Lewisburg, PA. It provides space and community for those wishing to start their own business but don’t necessarily have the resources or capital to do so on a big scale. The SBDC provides office space, breakout areas, tech support, engineers, and a sort of camaraderie to those working in the building. We have the chance to bounce ideas off of one another and to share new and exciting things being developed in our own pursuits as well as what others are developing in the world. The SBDC and Entrepreneur Incubator is such a valuable asset to this community and I never knew a place like it existed until I was offered the job. Who knew such amazing resources existed in a little town in Central Pennsylvania?

Otherwise, this has been an update on my life and a new venture I’m on. I understand this is a non photograph post, but the tagline is “Follow my adventure!” This is certainly an adventure.

Leave a Reply

