Spontaneous Trips

Image

Recently I took a spontaneous road trip to see the American side of Niagara Falls. I and a few friends had access to a car for the day and no plans on where to go. It was one person who suggested Niagara Falls when my only idea was to go to West Virginia because I had never been there before. 

After a somewhat late start, the Subaru was filled with fluffer nutter sandwiches, Diet Coke, and a tank of gas. Although we left late, we couldn’t have arrived at a better time. The sun was just setting behind the Canadian side and it was beautiful. We even had a chance to see the falls lit up at night. 

The last time I went to Niagara Falls, I was with my dad after we took a trip to Toronto. Being on the Canadian side, we got to see the Horseshoe Falls as well as the American Falls. Obviously the Canadians got a better deal in this scenario. You can see everything, the tourist town is bustling, and there are always perfect opportunities for pictures. The New York/American side really reflects a tourist destination gone bust. It’s quite a depressing city. Dead, closed up storefronts, cheesy incentives and beaten up motels. I cannot see it lasting very much longer. 

All in all though, it was a great trip. On the way home the driver took a detour through his hometown. This meant having a chance to stop by the entrance to Rt. 666. The goat was thrown and pictures were taken. We rolled into Pittsburgh around 3am, giving me enough time to take a nap before having to be at work at 9am. I was exhausted throughout the entire day but it was well worth it. I’d do it again in a heartbeat. 

Leave a Reply

